The Reading Rooms - Reviews

We really appreciate all the reviews our guests have taken the time to leave us on Trip Advisor and other websites. Big thank you. 

When this boutique B&B opened in 2009, it was still an anomaly in a seaside town more associated with the bucket-and-spade trippers in the Chas & Dave song, "Margate". But regeneration of the town, driven by the opening of the Turner Contemporary gallery last spring (where a solo exhibition of work by Margate's own Tracey Emin opened last weekend) has seen a sea change in the type of tourists venturing here. When the affluent, art-savvy crowd hit town, via the High Speed One line from London, this is where they stay.
Read more on the Independent website
Rhiannon Batten - The Independent on Sunday - 2012-06-03 There is nothing conventional about the Reading Rooms. Situated on a lovely, old rather neglected square in the centre of Margate, the B&B's walls were scuffed as if they had been stripped of wallpaper. My room was, I quickly realised, a very good room, as comfortable as a 5-star hotel's. First of all it was large, taking up the whole top floor, with three sash windows overlooking the triangular roofs of the Turner Contemporary and the flat pencil-grey sea beyond... Read more on www.thetimes.co.uk/ Tom Chesshyre - The Times - 2012-05-25 Top 10 things to do in Margate Spring has arrived and the coast is calling. With a new Turner gallery in the pipeline and a clutch of chic B 'n' Bs and restaurants Margate is shrugging off years of decline and staging a comeback.
Read more on the Guardian website
Stewart Turner - The Guardian - 2010-04-09 "The interiors will satisfy even the most style-savvy Londoners (...) The Reading Rooms provide the perfect excuse to spend an indulgent winter's weekend indoors."
Read more
Anna Norman - Time Out London - 2010-02-11 It had been a day of surprises, but the biggest surprise of them all awaited me when I checked into my B&B. An elegant guest house with three large bed rooms decorated in shades of white and ivory, with large french style beds and chandeliers, stripped floorboards, and bathrooms that would put many 5-star hotels to shame.
Read more on the Telegraph website
Joanne O'Connor - The Telegraph - 2011-04-09 The Reading Rooms in Kent which combine an 18th century Georgian townhouse with chandeliers, antique French armoires, exclusive Ren bath products, padded silk headboards and, the piece de resistance, breakfast in bed.
Read more on the Singapore Business Times website
The Singapore Business Times - 2010-01-02 The Reading Rooms... Sheer Indulgence. Antique baths, ornate iron radiators and REN smellies... it's the best Bed and Breakfast bathroom I've ever come across.
Read more on the Guardian website
Sally Shalam, The Guardian - 2009-12-12 The three letting rooms are huge, dominated by stunning reproduction antique French beds, dressed in crisp white bedlinen. Every part of the house oozes a luxurious feel... but for me, it was the wonderfully appointed en suite bathrooms that really stood out.
Read more on www.allaboutyou.com/
Kelly Rose Bradford - allaboutyou.com - 2009-12-18 The Reading Rooms is part of a new bread of small businesses putting this Regency gem of a resort back on the map. Lady Hamilton once lived - and was visited by her beau - Lord Nelson - on the genteel square where you will find this immaculately restored Georgian townhouse...
Read more
Coast magazine - 2011-06-05 "Winter Traum" 4-page article on the Reading Rooms in German Living magazine.
Read more
Living magazine, Deutchland - 2014-11-02 "The Bijou Reading Rooms, with just three decadent bedrooms, is the best address in town"
Read more
Joanne O'Connor - The Independent - 2014-11-02 Read more guest reviews on Trip Advisor Trip Advisor Reviews - 2010-02-01